Chakra-balancing massage is a combination of deep-tissue massage and energy work ie in this case, at The Healing Room, Dunfermline, the energy work used is reiki. 


The chakra body energy system is part of 5000-year-old Ayurveda healing science, which originated in India. Chakras are energy centres and the very core of our being, which we can manipulate and use for personal growth.

According to Ayurvedic tradition there are seven main chakras, which are junctions between the mind and body and which link the various aspects of what makes us human ie our: physical; energetic; emotional; mental; social; and spiritual selves. When we focus on the chakras, we can connect to these aspects and move toward balance; health; and well-being. Lifestyle choices can create imbalance or balance in our chakras. I also believe our mental consumption eg reading and viewing habits have an effect on our happiness and well-being eg mental and physical health and energy levels.


Energy flowing from the first chakra up the spine and out the seventh chakra at the crown of the head is the flow of energy that takes us from the physical level of being, through our mind and emotions, and connects us to the larger universe. This ascending flow is about finding deeper meaning and purpose to our lives.


Energy also flows into the seventh chakra at the crown of the head and moves down to the first chakra. This descending or manifesting current of energy moves us from the world of mind and spirit and helps us manifest ideas into the physical world.


The first chakra at the base of the spine is the root chakra and is the foundation of the entire chakra system. This chakra relates to being grounded and to a sense of security and survival. All chakras are associated with a colour and the colour of the root chakra is red.


The second chakra is the sacral chakra, which is associated with: the emotional body; sensuality; and creativity. Its element is water and as such, its energy is characterised by flow and flexibility. The function of the sacral chakra is directed by the principle of pleasure. The sacral chakra is located below the navel and is linked mainly to sexuality, sexual health; the water element; the lymphatic system; relationships; emotions; feelings; pleasure; creativity; fantasies; desires; sensations; sight; touch and taste; and sensuality. The sacral chakra is orange.


The third chakra is the solar plexus chakra. This is where we establish our identity and which path we take in life. If what you want to do in life does not match what you are doing, then you will feel this mismatch here. If you can align your intentions with your actions, you will establish a strong sense of identity, confidence and knowing who and what you are and will then interact more confidently with others. The solar plexus chakra is orange.


The fourth chakra is the heart chakra, which is a healing centre - the wellspring of love; warmth; compassion; and joy and this is located in the centre of the chest where the heart is. This chakra controls deep bonds with other beings and it moves love, which is the ultimate healing force. The heart chakra controls any sense of caring and compassion, self-love; altruism; generosity; kindness and respect and connects us to the universe. We can recognise fundamental sacred truths that run through all of life and connect everything and everyone. Balancing this chakra inspires kindness, compassion and helps create a safe and supportive environment. Just as with all other chakras there are physical bodily connections, in this case to the heart, lungs, circulation, arms and hands. The heart chakra is green.


The fifth chakra is the throat chakra, located at the throat. It is the passage of energy between the lower parts of the body and the head. The function of the throat chakra is driven by the principle of expression, communication and sound. The throat chakra is associated with the pharyngeal and brachial plexi; mouth; jaws; tongue, pharynx and palate; shoulders; neck; thyroid; intuition; etheric realm and spirit; sense of timing; self-expression; creativity; emotions; projecting thoughts and purpose; timing; and bringing ideas to reality. The throat chakra is blue.


The sixth chakra is the third eye chakra, which transcends time and space and is located in the brain, at the brow, above the base of the nose. The gift of this chakra is seeing - both inner and outer worlds. The energy of this chakra allows us to experience clear thought as well as gifts of spiritual contemplation and self-reflection.


The energy of the third eye chakra allows us to access our inner guidance system. It allows us to observe deeply, be mindful and give witness to our opinions based on our observations. We can cut through illusion and access deeper truths - to see beyond the mind, beyond words. The third eye allows us to examine and transcend self-limiting ideas and to develop wisdom that comes from a perspective that transcends the duality of good or bad, black or white. It means seeing and helping others to see the deeper meanings of the situations in their lives.


The sixth chakra is holistic in nature and when this chakra is fully activated, both hemispheres of the brain function in synchronicity. The right hemisphere's creativity and synthetic thinking is integrated and balanced with left hemisphere's logical and analytical thinking.


The third eye is not only the seat of wisdom, but also a seat of conscience. This is where you not only see what is going on, but you also know what it means. This is where your sense of justice and ethics originate. The physiological link is to the eyes, endocrine and pituitary gland. The third eye is indigo.


The seventh chakra is the crown chakra, which is located at the top of the head, it gives us access to higher states of consciousness as we are open to what is beyond our personal preoccupations and visions. The function of the crown chakra is driven by consciousness and gets us in touch with the universe.


The crown chakra is primarily associated to the pituitary gland, and secondarily to the pineal and the hypothalamus. The hypothalamus and pituitary gland work as a pair to regulate the endocrine system. Because of its location, the crown chakra is closely associated with the brain and the whole nervous system. The crown chakra is linked to: higher consciousness; realisation; transcendence from current limiting behaviours; the universal; cosmic; the divine; infinity; enlightenment; presence; ecstasy; bliss; wisdom and the sacred. The crown chakra is violet.

© 2023 by Skyline

Proudly created with

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now